Prose

natural revolution

When I was younger I always wanted to be another race. Nappy hair was never the in thing. Rather be that Indian chick with the long flowing ebony locks touching my lower back. Or that Caucasian with the blond waterfall from scalp to skin of neck or forearm. But that was never me, the God lord thought better. Everytime I tried to straighten it would just hang in the air, never fall back as if expecting something. Better things from me? I don’t know. And I don’t know when it got into a young black girls head that her hair was ment to be straight, call it colonial influence, subliminal, or not, messages from the air waves. I don’t know. And its sad to say that It got me, relaxed at maybe 10 and it was cool for a while, but my hair never satisfied my desires. Always too short,not thick enough, not the right color. I judged myself. Dont get me wrong,I’m not hating on you for relaxing ur hair, guy or chick. No hate for the weavers, Brazilian, Indian or whatever. Just do u,be comfortable in ur own hair…and skin. Let the journey begin, I decided to go natural again when I came to the motherland, Kenya. Though I grew up in another land and I struggled to keep up with it, but it has helped me embrace who I am. I find it funny that we are judged my the dead cells sprouting out of our heads like grass, no weeds. That that dude gna hate on you cause you put a weave, that she gna point you out as a revolutionary cause of ur nappy hair. I encourage you not to care. Cause though your hair don’t fall straight, its not any less yours,though it does, doesn’t make u secure. No matter how you twist it, it can’t hide sadness even if you are bald you can display a multitude of happiness. Chin up hair down, or floating. Do you, come through and show the hatters that you are your own revolution. This was supposed to be a performance piece, but yeah. Here it is. 😊

Standard

Leave a Reply

