Poetry

Heartbeat


I breathe you in slow
Its a reflection of how i want to love
Then i inhale it all fast as i look deep into your soul
I hope you see me
I show you in my eyes
What my lips cant speak
I show you with my body
What my eyes dont say
And when i show you with my heart and the words of my mouth
You run away
I won’t say its okay
Its not

And i am not pretty
Nor am i beautiful
I am profound, formidable, enchanting
I wont make you see that.
I used to work so hard on imposing my awesome on everyone
Making my greatness clear
But what is great is that it didn’t work
People who thought of me as less than continued to do so
And so i saw the truth
People will do what’s good for them
So i will too

After all
I am just passing through
I am determined to be good to those
That i find on my path
But their smiles dont light it up
God does
My dreams do
Ambitions, affirmations, action
Faith will pull me through

I believe
I am no longer afraid of myself
My faults and flaws are beautiful
My scars are pretty
My darkness is life
My pain is progress

Heart still beating fast
From my last encounter with what i thought was love
When all the love was within me
Heartbeat slow from realization
Epiphanies sedate me
But my heartbeat is kept
So till my last breath
I will breathe life in
Take adventure into my lungs
Gulp it down and sometimes sip slow
But i will never stop trying
I will never let myself go
But you….i can live without…
With or without you all…i will thrive

*mutheu*

Standard

Leave a Reply

